Take action- Family Fun Circus

Family Fun Circus coming to the Moorhead Center Mall July 30-31, 2011

Summer in Minnesota means lots of traveling animal circuses. Most of these circuses are small, and many of them lease their animals from questionable exhibitors. As these circuses crisscross our state, we can help protect the animals in the circus by educating the communities who host these circuses.

 

This weekend the Moorhead Center Mall will host the Family Fun Circus.On November 4, 2009 in Enid, OK a 4,500-pound African elephant named Kamba escaped from the Family Fun Circus and collided with an SUV. According to news reports, the passengers of the SUV had minor injuries and Kamba sustained a broken tusk, bruising to the trunk, and cuts and scrapes to her left front leg and body. Kamba was leased by the circus from exhibitor Doug Terranova, a circus trainer with a long history of violations of the Animal Welfare Act (AWA), and had also escaped from another circus the previous year. Court documents filed by the United States Department of Agriculture revealed Kamba’s trainer, Doug Terranova, is specifically listed in at least 15 violations of the Animal Welfare Act involving animals in his care.

Wild animal circuses present public safety problems and cannot offer humane conditions for the animals they own or lease.

Take Action Here

Please take a moment to contact the Moorhead Mayor, City Council, and Mall manager. Contact information and a sample letter is below to give you ideas for your own message or phone call. Polite messages are the most effective and have the best chance of being persuasive.

Mayor Mark Voxland, Phone: (218) 299-5307, Email: mark.voxland@cityofmoorhead.com

City Manager Michael J. Redlinger, Phone: (218) 299-5305, Email: michael.redlinger@ci.moorhead.mn.us

City Council Nancy Otto, Phone: (218) 233-2834, E-Mail: nancy.otto@cityofmoorhead.com

City Council Luther Stueland,  Phone: (218) 299-5549, Email: luther.stueland@cityofmoorhead.com

City Council Diane Wray Williams, Phone: (218) 236-5663, E-Mail: diane.wray.williams@cityofmoorhead.com

City Council Mark Altenburg, Phone: (218) 299-5547, E-Mail: mark.altenburg@cityofmoorhead.com

City Council Dan Hunt, Phone: (218) 236-0264, E-Mail: dan.hunt@cityofmoorhead.com

City Council Brenda Elmer, Phone: (218) 299-5548, E-Mail: brenda.elmer@cityofmoorhead.com

City Council Mark Hintermeyer, Phone: (218) 236-6292, Email: mark.hintermeyer@cityofmoorhead.com

City Council Greg Lemke, Phone: (218) 299.5542, E-Mail: greg.lemke@cityofmoorhead.com

Please also contact the Moorhead Mall:

Moorhead Center Mall, 510 Center Avenue, Moorhead, MN, Ph: 218.233.6117

General Manager: Kristi Ulrich – kristi@moorheadcentermall.com

Email block: mark.voxland@cityofmoorhead.com, michael.redlinger@ci.moorhead.mn.us, nancy.otto@cityofmoorhead.com, luther.stueland@cityofmoorhead.com, diane.wray.williams@cityofmoorhead.com, mark.altenburg@cityofmoorhead.com, dan.hunt@cityofmoorhead.com, brenda.elmer@cityofmoorhead.com, mark.hintermeyer@cityofmoorhead.com, greg.lemke@cityofmoorhead.com, kristi@moorheadcentermall.com

Sample Letter

Dear Mayor/Council Member/mall operator ….

I understand that the Family Fun Circus will be coming to the Moorhead Center Mall on July 30 and 31, 2011. Wild animal circuses present public safety problems and compromised conditions for the animals they own or lease.

The federal Animal Welfare Act (AWA) establishes minimum guidelines for public safety and animal welfare. Court documents filed by the United States Department of Agriculture list an exhibitor who has supplied animals for the Family Fun Circus, Doug Terranova, in at least 15 violations of the Animal Welfare Act involving animals in his care.

On November 4, 2009 in Enid, OK a 4,500-pound African elephant named Kamba escaped from the Family Fun Circus and collided with an SUV. The elephant was reportedly about to enter the circus tent to perform when she was startled and ran off the fairgrounds and onto the highway. According to news reports, the passengers of the SUV had minor injuries and Kamba sustained a broken tusk, bruising to the trunk, and cuts and scrapes to her left front leg and body. Kamba was leased by the circus from exhibitor Doug Terranova, and had also escaped from another circus the previous year.

I urge you to investigate whether the Family Fun Circus can ensure the animals in its care will not present public safety problems for Moorhead. Are the animals in the Family Fun Circus humanely treated? Does the animals’ owner/exhibitor have a clean United States Department of Agriculture record?

If the circus is unable to ensure public safety and humane treatment of its animals, I urge you to reconsider your community’s decision to allow The Family Fun Circus to perform in Moorhead this weekend.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Your Name

Address

More information about wild animals in circuses

solvoters
solvoters

No Comments

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *